The St. James Court Art Show ® was originally established to provide necessary funding to maintain the St. James Court grounds and fountain.
Proceeds from the show continue to allow St. James Court Association and Belgravia Court Association to fund ongoing grounds upkeep and neighborhood beautification efforts. Additionally, Fourth Street Association has utilized Art Show proceeds to fund the installation of new benches, urns and trash bins along Fourth Street. Art show proceeds also funded the Linear Park at 3rd & Hill and installation of period street lights.
Each year, $23,500 of scholarship funding is provided by St. James Court Association, Fourth Street Association, 3rd Street Association, and The 1300 Association. Scholarship information
Follow us on Facebook & Twitter
Our Facebook page will offer a behind the scenes look at how the art show comes together and allow our fans to take advantage of special offers. Follow us on Facebook.
Venus and The Cherubs at the Fountain decided to set up their own Twitter Account! http:/twitter.com/StJamesFountain Be sure to follow them for live updates before and during the Art Show. We are sure they will offer up a unique perspective on the show.
Louisville’s Central Park was designed by Frederick Law Olmsted Sr. in 1904. Olmsted is known as the father of American landscape architecture and designed numerous public spaces including Central Park in New York City. Proceeds from the Art Show allow The Old Louisville neighborhoods to help fund ongoing park clean up and beautification efforts.
The Conrad-Caldwell House
A Stunning Architectural Landmark located at 1402 St James Court.
The magnificent Richardsonian Mansion on the northwest corner of St. James Court was built by Arthur Loomis, a well-known local architect who also designed the J.B. Speed Museum.
Also known as “Conrad’s Castle,” this is one of the most stunning of Old Louisville’s houses and defines Richardsonian Romanesque architecture. The house was built for Theophilus Conrad, a Frenchman (Alsace) who made his fortune in the tanning business. The original construction price was $35,000. Walk around it and enjoy its gargoyles, swags, massive arches and fleur-de-lis. The Caldwell family purchased it in 1905 after Mr. Conrad’s death. They lived there for 35 years. It next served as the Rose Anna Hughes Presbyterian Retirement Home for 40 years. The St. James Court Historic Foundation purchased the home in 1987, restored it and now operates the museum. Tour the inside and you will experience breathtaking woodwork, stained glass and fixtures. The museum may be reserved for private tours, weddings, receptions, banquets, or corporate charity events. It is open for public tours Sun, Wed, Thu, Fri noon – 4:00pm and Sat 10:00am – 4:00pm.
The Conrad Caldwell House is Open During the Art Show
The Conrad Caldwell House gift shop will remain open and public tours will be conducted.
Conrad-Caldwell House Museum
1402 St. James Court
Louisville, KY 40208
(502) 636-5023; fax (502) 636-1264